Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   how many overflow boxes? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/how-many-overflow-boxes-14757/)

volzb1 05-17-2008 09:02 PM

how many overflow boxes?
 
I am currently setting up a 120 gallon freshwater aquarium and I dont know how many overflow boxes to hang on the back of my take and or what ones are good. Ive asked a few people and they said you could do with a nice one on one side and a power head on the other. I am going to stock this tank with Fancy African Cichlids.

herefishy 05-17-2008 09:21 PM

Why are you using over flows? Are you using a sump?

volzb1 05-17-2008 09:29 PM

yes I am using a 30 gallon sump for my 120 gallon main tank. Dont I need some sort of overflow box? or just use pvc and plum it right down to the sump?

herefishy 05-18-2008 01:40 AM

You'll need some sort of overflow when using a sump.

volzb1 05-18-2008 06:16 PM

ok so the question still exists how many overflows should I use?

herefishy 05-18-2008 11:40 PM

It would depend on the rating of your pump on the return to your tank. The overflow doesn't have to be all that large. Are you using a gravity feed to the sump?

Gump 05-19-2008 01:40 PM

You only need one as long as you get the correct size. Check in to CPR overflows they are very well made and work great.

Gump 05-19-2008 02:12 PM

Id also like to add; When your using a "non gravity" set up (HOB overflows) you need to match your pump to the size of the over flow box you use. Its a good idea to use a box that handles more flow than the return pumps GPH rating. If your using a drilled tank with a gravity set up you just need to make sure your return lines need to be big enough to handle the pump size.

volzb1 05-19-2008 09:11 PM

ok. I am kind of new to this whole sump/overflow deal, I mean Is it necessary for me to really even have an overflow if I just do a gravity deal? maybe you could post a website with what my best bet is for this 120 gallon tank with the 30 gallon sump. something that explains it in diagram of what I need if you know of a site of this sort. I'm thinking that gravity feed to my sump will be more efficient than spending money on overflows.

blueblue48 05-19-2008 11:55 PM

im not sure on what exactly you mean by "gravity feed" but the reason you need an overflow box is so that all your water doesnt go to the sump and flood everywhere in case of a power outage (your pump turns off). heres a good website showing what im talking about:
http://www.cyberreefguru.com/general.../overflow.html
when the water level gets below the baffles it stops syphoning water down to the sump that a way you can have a big old messy spill.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2