Tropical Fish Keeping banner

Compatibility advice

4K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  herefishy 
#1 ·
Hi,

Needed some advice on compatibility, im pretty new to this, so any advice/tips would be very much welcome!

I currently have a pair tin foil barbs, 2 pairs of koi, and a sucker cat fish, all picked out by my kids.

This has been the config for a while now, in a 18x9x12 (lxbxh) tank.

I am looking for some additions, probably something a little brightly coloured, my tank looks a bit dull as it is.
I was thinking of tangerines (orange mollies).

The fish have not shown the slightest signs of agression so far. I got them when they were pretty tiny, now all of them are about 1 to 1.5 inches in length.

Appreciate any help you could offer..
Thanks,
David

#2 ·
Koi really need ponds to live in. They get absolutely HUGE!

Tinfoil barbs get vry big also. You're into hundreds of gallons to keep a school of 6, and that is th number thy do best in as they are a schooling fish.

Do you know what kinda of fish th sucker mouth is? A pleco? Chinese algae Eater? We'll need to know what kinda before we can offer any advice. If you're not sure post a photo and we'll identify it for you.

Don't lt this put you off. Everyone starts out somewhere and buying incompatable fish is a mistake many fish keepers make hen they start out.

Personally, I think you should return th fish to th store, and we'll hlp you pick out some more suitable fish that you w, and your kids will enjoy.

#3 ·
Your Tinfoil Barbs will grow very fast and eat anything that fits in their mouth. I have seen many a small fish become food to a Tinfoil. I would suggest purchasing fish which will stay large enough to avoid becoming food. There are many members of the Barb family which fit this description and fit well in your setup. The most obvious are Clown Barbs and Bala Sharks.