Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   reef additives (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/reef-additives-14614/)

cp5041 05-12-2008 08:30 PM

reef additives

looking for opinions on best ways to replenish your reef tank. is a calcium reactor better than dripping kalk or adding liquid calcium? do you normally add strontium or mag? just looking for examples of what you guys add to your tanks.

MattD 05-13-2008 12:04 PM

I've never used the kalkwasser drip method before but I've seen it used countless times. My local reef shops just have massive complexes of reactors set up and their tanks are gorgeous. I myself never maintained large systems on my own so I can't vouch for these methods, but the display tanks do speak for themselves.

I'd imagine the best method of chemical replenishment is a combination of the above techniques you listed or some sort of system that uses a solution which offers all the necessary elements.

cp5041 05-15-2008 04:42 PM

what do u guys normally use?

MattD 05-15-2008 08:18 PM

I employ Kent Marine Essential Elements. This is just perfect for my nano reef. :D

SKAustin 05-15-2008 10:26 PM

First rule of thumb when adding chemical suppliments "NEVER add anything to your tank that you are not testing!"