Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Starting up, need suggestions. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/starting-up-need-suggestions-145786/)

udderlydesigned 04-05-2013 10:09 AM

Starting up, need suggestions.

Hello, so I am new to the world of fish and aquariums, up to this point I only ever had goldfish in bowls. I now have a 10 gallon tank with lots of fake plants because my real ones haven't sprouted yet. I have one blue gourami (~1") and one dwarf gourami (~1.5"). I got them because the info at the store said they could live together. I also had a pleco (~2"). I went away for a weekend and left a weekend feeder with them, I came back, the feeder had not been touched and my pleco was GONE!!! I'm worried these two are not going to last together. I really wanted a few more fish but now I am scarred to put anything else in with them. What should I do?

SeaHorse 04-05-2013 10:19 AM

I have created a thread just for you! Welcome to TFK!!

Could it have jumped out? Did you look all around? How long has this new tank been up and running and do you know if it has fully cycled? i.e. using a testing kit for Ammonia, NitrIte and NitrAtes?

udderlydesigned 04-05-2013 10:22 AM

I have a hood, there is now way it could have jumped out, and I looked everywhere. I found what looked like a very small bone. The tank has been up for about 3 and a half weeks. I have not tested it as of yet. I am looking to do that this weekend.

SeaHorse 04-05-2013 11:02 AM