Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   First Fish for a Child (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/first-fish-child-14551/)

FishNovice 05-10-2008 12:43 AM

First Fish for a Child

Hi! My nephew is fascinated by fish. When we visit zoos or aquariums he just stands and stares at the different fish tanks. So for his birthday, I thought I'd get him his first fish and tank. I need help, though, as I'm not a fish expert.

What size tank is appropriate for a little guy? (He's eight.) What fish is suitable for a younger pet lover?

Thanks for your help!

Anne
Designer Checks Inc

bettababy 05-10-2008 01:05 AM

Anne,
Welcome to FF!
You have a lot of options here. You could do something simple like a betta, or you could go with a full blown aquarium. A few things to consider when thinking about size... first, get a feel for the fish he likes. Take him "window shopping" at a pet store, see what he seems most interested in. Spend some time browsing, ask him what he likes and why he likes it. This is how I get the kids started when they come to me. Tank size will determine the animals you can keep, and the bigger the tank, the more options you have for population.
Next take into consideration who is going to be caring for this tank? What are the limitations and abilities of that person? Will that person have help? Willing help? What kind of life schedule does he have for caring for a tank? Different animals have different care needs, and this includes fish!