Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   newbie here, wondering what fish to get that eat insects (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/newbie-here-wondering-what-fish-get-14006/)

coyle 04-20-2008 08:46 PM

newbie here, wondering what fish to get that eat insects

Hi,

I've had fish in the past (I live in Hillsborough County FL where most of the tropical fish are raised.)

Right now I don't have any fish but want to get something that I can feed freeze dried mealworms and crickets as I have a couple pounds of it and can get good prices in the future.

I've got a small ten gallon tank so just off the top of my head I'm thinking of maybe a puffer and some snails; but figure someone out there might have some other suggestions.

Thanks!

willow 04-21-2008 04:07 PM

hello and welcome.
hopefully won't be long before someone will advise you
on your quest.

Amphitrite 04-21-2008 04:54 PM

Hello there coyle, welcome to the forum :)

coyle 04-21-2008 09:12 PM

Yeah, thanks. I'm surprised there haven't been any suggestions. Maybe it isn't that popular but I did research the puffers a bit more and they say actually that they need something like that to keep their beaks from growing too long so unless I hear of a better idea I'll be getting a puffer.

willow 04-22-2008 11:17 AM

hmmmm,well i feed my puffers, snails,blood worm.
small shrimp,they are still very small,and although theyare
dwarves,i will wait a bit before i give them anything else.
i can't remember reading anywhere about meal worms
and crickets.

Jpet 04-25-2008 05:55 PM

I think that a 10 gallon would be to small for any thing that would eat crickets and mealworms. If you wanted to get a bigger tank, I would say get an Oscar they are eating machines.

coyle 05-08-2008 03:32 PM