Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   30g community aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/30g-community-aquarium-13827/)

Torn 04-14-2008 05:31 AM

30g community aquarium

Hello, complete beginner here. :D

I will be getting a 30 gallon tank soon and was wondering if my fish wishlist was suitable for this size aquarium and are also compatible with each other. I'll do a fishless cycle before I add anything and plan to have real plants.

1 Bristlenose Catfish
2 or 3 Dwarf Gourami
6 Neon Rainbow
6 Black Phantom Tetra

Any comments or suggestions if these fish aren't suitable would be great, thank you.

crazy4fish 04-14-2008 07:18 AM

i think that might be a little overstocked considering how much swimming space the rainbows need.

gouramis are territorial and many people say that they should be kept alone unless in a large tank. you might be able to keep 2 if its a male and female but 2 males would probably fight.

pash19 04-14-2008 07:32 AM

i have 6 gouramis 2 male 4 female and they get along fine, they may bicker once and awhile but other than that they're fine

Torn 04-14-2008 10:43 AM

Thanks for your opinions. So do you think it would be ok to have 1 male and 1 female Gourami and 4 Rainbows? Or is there another fish anyone can suggest to replace the Rainbows that might suit my tank better?

Cody 04-14-2008 10:48 AM

Neon Tetras? Cardinal Tetras? Rainbows need a lot of swimming space. How long is your tank?

The 1M 1F Gourami would be best. It may be hard to find a female DG though, as most sold are males, or females with a ton or hormones pumped into them.

Torn 04-14-2008 10:55 AM

It's 80cm long. I like cardinal tetras, if I got them instead then would 6 be ok?

Cody 04-14-2008 10:59 AM