Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Water Hardness (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/water-hardness-13608/)

IntelligentDesigner 04-07-2008 08:12 PM

Water Hardness

I'm brand new to the aquarium world, but I tried taking all the steps and getting all the right chemicals and stuff. I got these 5-in-1 test strips for Ph, Nitrate Levels, and General Water Hardness. I dipped in the strip today and all the readings came low (where they should be according to what I read) except the general water hardness. I got chemicals to raise and lower Ph and Nitrate balances, but how do I reduce the reading for general hardness? Do I have to buy filtered water?

Pasfur 04-07-2008 08:18 PM

You need to buy a buffer. My favorite is a product called Proper pH, which you can order on most internet sites or find at the LFS. By testing your hardness on a weekly basis, you will quickly identify how frequently you need to add this buffer. Proper pH comes in 6.5, 7.0, 7.5, and 8.0, if my memory is correct.
Attempting to raise the pH without the use of a buffer is fruitless. Avoid products which claim to raise the pH, but do nothing for your buffer system.

Elahrairah 04-08-2008 11:25 AM

I believe the buffer will only increase the KH. Which is not General Hardness

To lower GH, I know of two methods....one, use Reverse Osmosis water....which has a GH of 0...so you have to mix it with your tap water in the proper ratio to get the GH you want...careful, RO water also has a KH of 0 so your pH may not be as stable.