Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Terra cotta decorations (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/terra-cotta-decorations-13476/)

jmelissa82 04-03-2008 04:52 PM

Terra cotta decorations

Hi i am very very new to the fish world, and new to this site as of last night.Last night I browsed theru some pics and noticed a few peol have put terra cotta planters in their tank. It makes a really nice touch of color and I was wanting to do the same thing. I was wandering how u go about it,.. do u scrub it first, have to soak it? Is it best to put te whole thing in there or break it??? I want to make sure everyone in my tank will be safe....any advice??

Cody 04-03-2008 06:08 PM

Re: Terra cotta decorations

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmelissa82
Hi i am very very new to the fish world, and new to this site as of last night.Last night I browsed theru some pics and noticed a few peol have put terra cotta planters in their tank. It makes a really nice touch of color and I was wanting to do the same thing. I was wandering how u go about it,.. do u scrub it first, have to soak it? Is it best to put te whole thing in there or break it??? I want to make sure everyone in my tank will be safe....any advice??

Boiling the pot or pouring very hot water water over it for a (5-10) should work. A good scrub afterwards would help as well (make sure to not use soap).

You can break it or put it in whole; whatever you prefer. If you break it, be sure there are no sharp edges that could harm your fish.

jmelissa82 04-03-2008 06:32 PM

thank you, will do!

Holly 04-03-2008 09:18 PM