Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   Newbie! with some stocking/gen ?'s (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/newbie-some-stocking-gen-s-13475/)

bigk_54 04-03-2008 05:48 PM

Newbie! with some stocking/gen ?'s

Hello all, I am a Newbie that aquired a used 55 gallon tank and have a few ?'s. I have read PAGES upon PAGES on this thread and would like a lil advice per my situation. I have two books coming in the next week that I am going to read too for knowledge.

First off my tank is 55 gal. I believe, It is 48"x24"X13" (or something close)

It came with an Aqua-Tech 30-60 and 2 other power filters one 8" wide and one 6" wide (no markings on either). There were also about 10 air pumps.

My first ? is, should I run the other 2filters besides the 30-60? Also they are used but work, should I buy newer ones (I have looked at aqua clear and emperor)?

Second, how much air should I be pumping into this tank, because I can tell that about 4 of the air pumps have been used and work.

The top of the tank is "spilt" in half with a plastic divider, I also need a hood with light, can anybody recommend a good one that doesn't cost an arm and a leg.

Now my final AND MOST IMPORTANT ? for ya'll. I like Ciclids, but doesn't seem they like many other fish, specifically Blue Ram. I also like Dwarf Gourami's, Danios. Rainbows, amd Tetra. I want this to be a fish tank with some nice fish with color. Can anyone lead me down a road with some fish combos where they can all co-exist. Looking at this massive thing I would say the more fish the better for me. I seem to be getting too many answers with the diff. comparison charts I find.

Thank you for any help you can lend me!

Fat_Fender_40 04-04-2008 04:05 PM

Re: Newbie! with some stocking/gen ?'s