Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   Sick Betta Need Help (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/sick-betta-need-help-13431/)

rockharder85 04-01-2008 10:33 PM

Sick Betta Need Help

I am new to bettas so I tend to freak out when they do what I think are "strange" things. However, this time I think there is something really really wrong. Greg (the fish) has a very HUGE belly like he ate way way too much or is pregnant (which I know he isn't cause he's a male). Along with the huge belly he also doesn't swim around a lot just hangs out at the bottom of the tank or in his house and he doesn't come up for food which he used to "run" for when I opened the lid to the tank. What is wrong with my fish? Please help

Cody 04-01-2008 10:45 PM

Re: Sick Betta Need Help

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockharder85
I am new to bettas so I tend to freak out when they do what I think are "strange" things. However, this time I think there is something really really wrong. Greg (the fish) has a very HUGE belly like he ate way way too much or is pregnant (which I know he isn't cause he's a male). Along with the huge belly he also doesn't swim around a lot just hangs out at the bottom of the tank or in his house and he doesn't come up for food which he used to "run" for when I opened the lid to the tank. What is wrong with my fish? Please help

Tank size? Water Paramaters? Do you have a heater? Water changing schedule? When did you do your last change, and how much?

Sorry for all the questions, we just need to know these.

Also, is he pooping?

FlamingCod 04-01-2008 11:20 PM

I'd have to lean towards a pooping problem, perhaps an obsctruction. You haven't tried to apply a gentle