Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Livebearers (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/)
-   -   When can i tell the sex of my guppy babies? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/when-can-i-tell-sex-my-134290/)

hallie56 03-21-2013 04:34 PM

When can i tell the sex of my guppy babies?

Hello again, I am still learning. How long before I can tell the sex of my babies? I have approx. 30 new guppy fry... 3 are 1 month old, 11 were born day before yesterday and 16 today. I am having trouble telling on the month old ones.

fish keeper 2013 03-21-2013 08:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hallie56 (Post 1503978)
Hello again, I am still learning. How long before I can tell the sex of my babies? I have approx. 30 new guppy fry... 3 are 1 month old, 11 were born day before yesterday and 16 today. I am having trouble telling on the month old ones.

Wow! How did you manage to count them? :-D

Guppies are mostly distiguishable by their color. Males are much more colorful and have more flowing tails. Females are also slightly larger. If they haven't developed color yet than you can tell by the gonpodium fin that males have. Also, females and males in the same tank will result in a pregnant female as soon as she is mature. They will develop a dark gravid spot.

Source:

Poecilia reticulata - The Free Freshwater and Saltwater Aquarium Encyclopedia Anyone Can Edit - The Aquarium Wiki

fish keeper 2013 03-21-2013 08:41 PM

Huh that was supposed to be a link to the page...

Oh well :lol:

hallie56 03-21-2013 09:23 PM

fishkeeper... that is why I want to separate the girls from the boys..... as they are just a few days old they don't have color yet.... *S*

ZivaD 03-22-2013 10:55 AM