Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   What type of tanks and set ups should I look for (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/what-type-tanks-set-ups-should-13400/)

matttom 03-31-2008 09:01 PM

What type of tanks and set ups should I look for

Hi all I'm new to this and excuse me for any ignorance I might show :oops:

Anyway this is my plan. I live on the water in a saltwater estuary. I have access to unlimited "clean" water and I have the ability to collect a large selection of livestock.

The type of enviroment I would like to set up is a temperate water ecosystem, maybe 65-70 degrees. I also would like to try some of the local soft corals and plants. The fish I would like would mostly be small from 2" to 8" max.

I am of course working on a limited budget. I would like to purchase a used set-up 75-90 gal. There seems to be an abundace for sale in my area. So what are the musts as far as filtration, lighting,heating ect.....

Thanks for any help in advance :D

Dave66 04-01-2008 01:12 AM

Re: What type of tanks and set ups should I look for

Quote:

Originally Posted by matttom
Hi all I'm new to this and excuse me for any ignorance I might show :oops:

Anyway this is my plan. I live on the water in a saltwater estuary. I have access to unlimited "clean" water and I have the ability to collect a large selection of livestock.

The type of enviroment I would like to set up is a temperate water ecosystem, maybe 65-70 degrees. I also would like to try some of the local soft corals and plants. The fish I would like would mostly be small from 2" to 8" max.