Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/forum.php)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Sand for substrate (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/sand-substrate-13373/)

imafry 03-30-2008 08:53 AM

Sand for substrate
 
I have sand for substrate in my 15 gallon. I've heard that you can get buildup in sand pockets of various nitrates and things. What should I have in the tank for livestock to be sure the sand is getting the proper turnover, etc? Thanks!

Amphitrite 03-30-2008 09:03 AM

To prevent this from happening, I simply rake through the sand with a plastic fork when I'm doing waterchanges.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome