Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cichlids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/)
-   -   need help with aggression.... (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/need-help-aggression-13334/)

ff_emt639 03-29-2008 12:56 AM

need help with aggression....

Hi I'm new to fishforum but anyways I was just looking for some advice and had a couple of questions. I have a 120 gallon with 10 african cichlids, 2 clown loaches, 2 yoyo loaches, 2 catfish and 3 plecos in it. My problem is that recently my demasoni has become a terror, there are 3 cichlids that he likes to keep in a corner and will not let them come out...... Is there a way to stop this? I once heard that a little bit of overcrowding will help with aggression problems, is this true? I don't want to lose any of these three because they are really pretty but I'm afraid that they wont get enough food if he wont let them out of the corner. This tank has only been set up for about 2 months, I previously had a 55 gallon and a 30 gallon and when I got the 120 gallon I combined the fish that I had in both tanks to just the one and of course added a couple more, in fact 2 out of the 3 that my demasoni is keeping cornered have only been in there a week. Anybody that has some advice it would be greatly appreciated.

Fat_Fender_40 03-29-2008 05:24 AM

One speculation is that since it's recently added fish added to the tank that are being terrorized, move the decor around. Remove the fish for a time being and rearrange your entire 120. Then when you add the fish in, put the most aggressive ones in last, giving the others time to find their spot.

Do you have enough decor for all the fish to have "territory?" If you have fish that are being picked on hiding behind filters or heaters then you need to add more decor.