Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   Newbie needs help! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/newbie-needs-help-13314/)

Rckpenguin 03-28-2008 09:59 AM

Newbie needs help!

I have a 55 gallon tank that has been set up since 2/25/08 with 2 silver dollars and 2 dwarf gouramis. Tank has been cycled for weeks now. (Nitrates: 5-10, Ammonia: 0, Nitrites: 0, pH: about 7.5)

On 3/9 I added 10 neon tetras and 2 clown loaches. Since I'm new at this, I didn't realize I should have quarantined the new fish until it was too late. The whole tank got ick/ich, which I fought for a week with salt (1 tbsp/5 gal), elevated temps (86 degrees) and 50% water changes everyday. (I did lower my water level so the filter would create more aeration.)

After a week there were no visible cysts but I continued to treat for another week with salt (1 tbsp/10 gals) and elevated temps, but water changes only every other day.

There are still no signs of the ick but Wednesday I came home and 1 of my tetras had an almost clear/beige "patch" on her tail where it should be red. I quarantined her in fear that it was neon tetra disease. However, she turned white and died over night. As far as I understand NTD shouldn't have killed her that quickly. (?)

Last night I found a loach that had also turned white and died. I removed him and did a 50% w/c, this time, without adding salt. This morning I woke up to find that all of them seemed to be losing their color. (They look "cloudy") Now I don't know what to do and I'm afraid I'm about to lose the whole tank.

Here are some things that I wonder about:
(things that might be causing the problem)