Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   How to catch fast little fish in big planted tank? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/how-catch-fast-little-fish-big-131942/)

spiderlady 03-16-2013 04:52 PM

How to catch fast little fish in big planted tank?

OK so as you might have guessed I'm relatively new to fish keeping... :roll: I am dealing with some sick fishies now and trying to get them setup in a hospital tank to treat them. I got as far as filling up a smaller tank (I think 25 or 30 gal, not sure) with water from the main tank and adding some stress coat and a bubbler... My plan was to next quickly move the fish while the water is the same temp, then slowly over the rest of the day add more freshwater to top it off (its about 3/4 full, I don't want to take any more water than that from my other tank). Then I would proceed with adding the HOB filter with old media in it, adding some salt a little at a time and treating with the meds etc...

But OMG. :shock: I cannot for the life of me catch a single one of those little suckers!!!! I have 10 Zebra danios and 2 Oto cats in a 55 gal tank that is FULL of live plants (rather overgrown I must admit - but I don't have time to deal with that right now), and a giant 2 piece sunken ship with live plants precariously growing on it... There is no room to do anything in there and these fish have ADD, they never stay still, except the little Otos, but they too seem to give me the slip just the same. What to do??!

Advice anyone? Thanks in advance!!

Romad 03-16-2013 05:33 PM

First, welcome to the forum :wave:

I feel your pain there. It took me most of forever to catch all of my fish when we moved.