Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Cheap Aquarium lighting and Substrate (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/cheap-aquarium-lighting-substrate-131938/)

Emerald Terror 03-16-2013 05:06 PM

Cheap Aquarium lighting and Substrate

I'm a newbie to the world of aquarium plants and from what I hear the majority of the cost will be in aquarium substrate and lighting. I'm pretty sure my LFS worker led me in the right direction on substrate by giving me the idea of half black sand and half plant soil that are at a relatively low cost. However, this worker was an owner of 5 100+ gallon tanks and he put a lot of money into the lighting of his tank. I don't want a 200$ light for 200$ tank so can anyone lead me in the right direction for a cheap aquarium light for a 75 gallon tank that will grow most plants?

Chesh 03-16-2013 05:53 PM

As far as substrate is concerned, play sand is available from shops like Home Depot for around $3 a bag. It looks very nice in the tank, too, and is inert. If this is your first planted tank you may (or may not!) run into trouble using soil (be sure to do some extra research there before you commit!)

Lighting can be tricky, but if you get the right full spectrum aquarium bulb, you can get the lighting fixtures for far less money by buying a standard light from the hardware store. . . they probably won't match your tank hood, but a light is a light is a light, neh?

Emerald Terror 03-16-2013 06:04 PM