Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   red spikes from pregnant guppies anus (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/red-spikes-pregnant-guppies-anus-130431/)

chirpchirp 03-02-2013 12:19 AM

red spikes from pregnant guppies anus

Hi there,
This is my first time posting on this site.
I have a pregnant female guppy who has already dropped four babies ( one live and healthy) and three still curled up. I'm sure she has many more to go however I have noticed her rather erratic behaviour then I saw a couple of red spikes coming out of her anus.
my fiancÚ bought me a microscope last year so I managed to remove three of the red worms with tweezers and then viewed under the microscope to see moving worms... Lovely! one or two were smaller but the other two were perhaps a CM possibly a little longer.
after looking at some internet sites I have come to the conclusion that they are an internal parasite?
I think their actual name starts with a C but I can't remember it now.
If someone could give me some more information that would be great.
I am interested in finding out about the parasite, is it in the tummy? What does it do to the carrier and any fry or eggs inside the carrier in the case of a pregnant female.
I would also be very grateful to hear any treatment successes / fails so as I know my best option for treatment as I do want to get onto treatment asap.

Thanks in advance :)
Meg
Posted via Mobile Device

SeaHorse 03-02-2013 08:16 AM

I don't know anything about what you are describing but wanted to make sure you have seen this "Sticky" in the Disease area of our Forum. I will be listed above your thread on the sub menu above your own thread. (if that makes any sense).
It is a list of sites to help you research.