Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Water Chemistry (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/water-chemistry/)
-   -   Re post: Water pH questions HELP!! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/water-chemistry/re-post-water-ph-questions-help-129114/)

meganlaroo 02-17-2013 04:10 PM

Re post: Water pH questions HELP!!
 
I know this is a saltwater forum, but I thought someone could help me .

I have well water that tests 6.4 out of the tap. It's not hard. (the fish store said it's about mid range for hardness.)
My problem is that the next day this water will test 8.0! (using the API high pH tester.) This is the water in the aquarium and in a glass of water just sitting on my counter. What would cause such a fluctuation in water pH???

I have just started a 15 gal tank over a week ago. I have a bog log and 5 zebra danios and a few plastic plants. My filter is an outside Aquaeon for up to 30 gal.
Ammonia is on the yellow side of .25 ppm. Nitrates and nitrites are 0.
Do I need to do water changes yet? And when I do start changing water, do I use it right out of the tap at 6.4, or let it sit in a bucket for a day or two until it reaches the 8.0 mark?

I bought this for a tetra and 1 male betta tank. Will I ever be able to get the pH down to an acceptable level for them? Maybe I need to buy water? I hate to even think about toting 5 gallon jugs of water home from the grocery store!

Any advice will be eagerly awaited!
Thanks...

stephenhelsel 02-17-2013 07:54 PM

I have read a couple different times that the co2 in the water will cause it to read wrong if you test it straight from the tap. They said to shake it to release the co2 to get it to read right.

Byron would have more on this as I believe it was his post I might of read.

It may not be the co2 but its something that causes it. Either way they to shake it up and let it sit before u test it n

Reefing Madness 02-17-2013 09:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stephenhelsel (Post 1434273)
I have read a couple different times that the co2 in the water will cause it to read wrong if you test it straight from the tap. They said to shake it to release the co2 to get it to read right.

Byron would have more on this as I believe it was his post I might of read.

It may not be the co2 but its something that causes it. Either way they to shake it up and let it sit before u test it n

Trapped CO2 is what causes the PH to drop off. Aerating the tank well causes the PH to raise.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2