Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cyprinids and Atherinids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cyprinids-atherinids/)
-   -   Need Help... My fishes are dying. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cyprinids-atherinids/need-help-my-fishes-dying-129095/)

brij 02-17-2013 12:12 PM

Need Help... My fishes are dying.

I am new to fish keeping and had the tank for only two months. My Tank size is 55 gallon and When i bought the tank i bough 10 gold fish and 2 placos with it. I do around 25% water change every week and gravel cleaning every 15 days.

It was all fine until last Saturday when i did my gravel cleaning. I removed all the decoration and washed it with tap water and then did around 40% of water change. on 4th day ( Wed Night) i saw one of the fish had a black spot on fin. I Googled it and found that it can be due to high ammonia. I don't know why because i just did water change.

on 6th day the first fish died and found other two fishes are having the same issue. I took water sample to Big Al's (From where i bought the tank and fishes), they advised me that i have high PH and HI ammonia. they advised me to do 25% water change immediately and they also sold me two liquids and advise me to follow a 7 days cycle.

1) Multipurpose Bio-Support Tout Usage which contains good live bacteria and have been adding it 5 ML per 5 gallon (so 55ML) add it every day for 7 days.

2) Amo lock which converts ammonia to nontoxic form. I was advised to add it every other days 20 ML each time so total 3 times in 7 days cycle.

They also advised me that i went too far in cleaning my tank I should not have washed the ornaments and filter as it would kill all good bacteria. I feel so bad right now that cleaning my tank is killing my fish.