Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Wanting to start a 10 gallon betta tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/wanting-start-10-gallon-betta-tank-12906/)

master1425 03-14-2008 08:19 PM

Wanting to start a 10 gallon betta tank

Hey,

Well, after some thought, I've decided that I would very much like to start a tank.

Im a college student, so of course I want something that will only require basic mantinence and care, while still be very attractive.

So, im hoping to have a 10 gallon(possibly might think 5-7.5 gallons), featuring one male betta fish.

So, Im hoping maybe someone with some more experience in the area would be able to recommend a few things such as: plants that go well in a 10 gallon(w/ bettas), as well as cleaner fish(or snails maybe?) that would go well in this combination.

Any recommendations or feedback would be greatly appreciated.

herefishy 03-14-2008 10:33 PM

Donethe college dorm tank thing myself, albeit many, many years ago. I was fortunate to have my roommate expelled from school so I had the whole room for me and mine. I started out with a bigger tank, but I do understand your dilemna.

Either a 7.5g or a 10g would be fine for one male betta. The smaller tank will call fo more maintainence. A single male betta with about four cories, or a mystery snail, would be nice. Maybe even a dwarf plecostomus. Plants could include eoldea floated in the tank. This would provide cover and calm the betta. Small cryptocorynes would also be a nice touch.

MattD 03-14-2008 10:49 PM

I say get the 10 gallon, 1 male betta, and a shoal of 6 panda cories. The cories will be happy, and the betta will be lounging all day as his underlings scour the floor day and night.