Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Can you clean your tank to much? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/can-you-clean-your-tank-much-129004/)

KatSea 02-16-2013 03:21 PM

Can you clean your tank to much?

I know it seems like a stupid question but cant you clean your tank to much?
Can doing a 20% or a 50% water change two or three times a week be bad for the fish and plants? I don't do it but I was just wondering

MMAfish35 02-16-2013 04:56 PM

I would say yes, because it can take too much of the bacteria out of the water. If that happens it cause the cycle to start, and if done much can cause the fish to stress out a lot. I'm not an expert, but I would say it is bad.

Nilet699 02-16-2013 05:38 PM

The water though contains like zero bacteria. Like 0.0000001% of it.

jentralala 02-16-2013 06:01 PM

Depends on the fish. I'm no expert, but I'd say it's unnecessary for most tropical fish (tetras, rasboras, etc), they do just fine with a weekly 30%/50% water change.

It's a whole different ballgame for Discus and Goldfish though. From what I've read about Discus appreciate massive water changes several times a week. And Goldfish are incredibly messy fish with high bioloads that have to be kept in check with large water changes.

jentralala 02-16-2013 06:02 PM

Also, for some planted tanks, such as Dutch, they require massive water changes often to replenish the nutrients in the water that come from the tap.

AbbeysDad 02-16-2013 08:18 PM

The beneficial bacteria are not water borne as they attach themselves to hardscape - filter elements, substrate and decor. Water changes do not really reduce beneficial bacteria.