Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Livebearers (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/)
-   -   big beginner here (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/big-beginner-here-128573/)

jd08 02-12-2013 08:38 AM

big beginner here

Hi, I am wondering if the fry like to stay at the bottom of the tank? And how and what to feed it? Will it eat flake food? I woke up this morning and have a baby. Just one. I'm not sure if there were more or not as this is the only one I see. I keep checking on it to make sure it"s still there I would like for it to survive. I had 3 fish in a 10 gal tank and down to two as I found one dead on the bottom before I saw the fry. I originally had 6, but the number dwindles and I'm not sure why. I don't use heater since my tank stays between 74-78. Also what kind of live plant is good for mollies and platties? Sorry so many questions. I'm new to this. :-) Thanks!

SeaHorse 02-12-2013 09:08 AM

Hi jd08! Welcome to TFK! We're glad you joined us!!

You are SO special to us we gave you your own thread!! lol

Since we don't know much about your tank other than 10 gallon... we'll need more info. However you can feed that baby by scrunching some food very fine. Please make sure you have some cover for the baby. It is not safe until it is BIGGER than the biggest MOUTH in the tank. He could become a snack and needs cover to be safe.
Would you be willing to answer our questionaire? Some might not be applicable but it eliminates us going back and forth asking more questions.... Haha hopefully!!
1. Size of tank?

2. Water parameters
a. Ammonia?
b. Nitrite?
c. Nitrate?
d. pH, KH and GH?
e. Test kit?

3. Temperature?

4. FW (fresh water) or BW (brackish)?

5. How long the aquarium has been set up?

6. What fish do you have? How many are in your tank? How big are they? How long have you had them?