Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cichlids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/)
-   -   Convicts have Babies!!! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/convicts-have-babies-12837/)

rokbro 03-12-2008 01:17 AM

Convicts have Babies!!!

Two weeks ago I purchased two black convicts and today I noticed the female acting oddly so I took a closer look. She had laid eggs on the back side of one of the rocks, they had hatched and she was moving them into a cave she had dug out under that rock!!!

I am new to Cichlids so what do I do now? I did run out and purchase some micro pellets for the fry. Also, I am a little worried that the rock she made a home under might fall on her and the fry.

Tank Info: 55 gal, 1/3 sand 2/3 gravel substrate, lots of rocks with caves and some artificial plants. Occupants: Two black Convicts and 1 Pleco. (I decided to switch from a community tank to an aggressive tank)

All suggestions and advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

By the way...I love Cichlids!

willow 03-12-2008 03:00 AM

hello and welcome,
how unsure are you of the cave ?
i wold have thought that if you try and move the stone she
will probably move the fry to a different location within the tank.
however i would try and do something if it means the possibility
of a large amount of rock would fall .
you may have to re think your rock work if the base rocks
are not sunk into the substrate now because you will find this happening
often as these fish dig,they will make the rock work
unsteady.

rokbro 03-12-2008 10:12 PM

Most of the rocks are on the gravel side but I have one stand alone rock on the sand side. I tested the rock and it still has a solid footing so I am going to keep checking it for stability.

Is there anything specail I need to do or provide for the fry?

willow 03-13-2008 04:25 PM

hmmm,