Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Are these fish compatible? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/these-fish-compatible-128008/)

Newfishguy 02-06-2013 07:24 AM

Are these fish compatible?

I am looking to get a few different fish for my 75g tank. They all can live within the same temp and ph. But, The Kh for these fish are at different levels. As my name suggests I am a fish noob. I have not tested for Kh ever. Will this stop me from integrating the fish I want?

Fish are as follows:
Roseline barb (denizen) kh 4-10 ph 6.5-7.8
Rainbow kh 9-19 ph 7-8
Cardinal tetra kh 2-6 ph 5.5-7.5
Rio **** L135 kh 6-10 ph 6.5-7.4
Singapore shrimp kh 3-10 ph 6.5-8

I have no idea about what kh are and what kh levels in my tank are. Living in Colorado my ph is naturally around 7.8.

funkman262 02-06-2013 07:35 AM

KH refers to your temporary hardness aka carbonate hardness aka alkalinity. Fish are very adaptable, especially tank-bred/raised which is becoming more abundant these days. Those "ideal" conditions may only matter when breeding certain species. Some people try changing around their water chemistry using buffers and such but that can lead to horrible crashes down the road. It's best to drip acclimate newcomers to prevent any sort of shock.

JDM 02-06-2013 08:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Newfishguy (Post 1420926)
I am looking to get a few different fish for my 75g tank. They all can live within the same temp and ph. But, The Kh for these fish are at different levels. As my name suggests I am a fish noob. I have not tested for Kh ever. Will this stop me from integrating the fish I want?

Fish are as follows:
Rainbow kh 9-19 ph 7-8