Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Invertebrates (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/invertebrates/)
-   -   What is this Snail & How can I grow enough algae to feed him? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/invertebrates/what-snail-how-can-i-grow-127314/)

SnailShellBoatman 01-29-2013 10:53 PM

What is this Snail & How can I grow enough algae to feed him?

2 Attachment(s)
I bought this snail with two others a couple of months ago.

1st: Can anyone ID the species? I'm new to snails.

2nd: Is there anyway I can grow enought algae to feed him and my pleco (the other two snails died. I'm afraid it might
have been lack of algae to eat)? I feed them wafers, but I'd like to give them a steady amount of the pure stuff too.
Any advice in this area?

djembekah 01-29-2013 11:42 PM

he looks like a mystery or apple snail of some kind

and i'd honestly supplement with fresh vegetables, rather than hope algae would grow. Plecos need more than just algae, for sure. some even need some meaty things. You can try adding more light though, possibly.

yyankeeyankeefan 01-30-2013 12:58 AM

that is an apple snail. i love them, they are fantastic little buggers but they do LOVE to eat floating plants such as water sprite, or duckweed..ect. so that is another way to supplement. if you want you can just throw down an algae wafer. they also would enjoy a piece of romaine floating in your tank. mine are always the first all over the broccoli when i give it to my otos. i don't really notice my apple snails doing any major algae cleaning to be honest. mine much prefer floating plants and they seem to eat that when they want. so i think they only eat algae if there is nothing else and have to.

SnailShellBoatman 01-30-2013 11:19 AM

That's good to know. I don't have any romaine, duckweed, or sprite at the moment. Would spinach and lettuce leaves work?