Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Catfish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/catfish/)
-   -   Corydoras Problem (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/catfish/corydoras-problem-127267/)

Athur 01-29-2013 04:33 PM

Corydoras Problem

I'm new to fish keeping so please forgive me if some of my questions have obvious answers. I have a cycled twenty gallon tank stocked with three assorted cories (Schwartz, emerald, and an unknown) and six danios. I started of with three emeralds. two of them died for unknown reasons and were replaced with the Schwartz and the unknown. The lone emerald hides most of the time so I don't see him very often but when I caught I glimpse of him recetnly I noticed that his whiskers were gone!:blink: I don't know how this happened. The substrate is not abrasive and I feed him Omega One shrimp pellets supplemented with fallen fish flakes. I was thinking that it might have something to do with fungus? All advice and help is welcome.

Kuddos 2 U 01-29-2013 04:48 PM

It could be because of a number of causes, such as poor nutrition, Bacterial infection, or maybe even some nipping going on. In my advice, I would put it somewhere else and nurse it back to health, either in a breeder net or in a quarantine.

Athur 01-29-2013 05:21 PM

I don't have a quarantine tank or a breeder net. What is a breeder net?

Thoth 01-29-2013 09:49 PM

A breeder net is a net that sits in the tank that is used to separate fish inside a tank.