Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Algae problem in my 125 (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/algae-problem-my-125-a-125396/)

JeromeF 01-11-2013 07:55 PM

Algae problem in my 125

Hello everyone and thank you for allowing me to join your community. I am new to Freshwater Plant aquariums. Ive been keeping freshwater fishes for years now and have recently stepped up and decided to do the live plants thing too. Here is what I have and if I miss something please let me know. I have a standard 125gal (72x18x21). It has 2" of Black Flourite plant substrate and is being heated by 2 250w Aqueon Pro Heaters set at 78f. Lighting is provided by a 72" AquaticLife 12 lamp t5ho fixture for 10hrs a day, and the tank is filtered by a single Fluval Fx5 canister filter. This tank has been running since Oct 2012 but with stock lighting until Xmas when I purchased the AquaticLife fixture. Its stocked with 3 Lemon Tetras, 3 Pristella Tetras, 3 Congo Tetras, 3Kkhuli Loaches, 3 German Blue Rams, 4 Flagfish, 6 Sterba Catfish, 6 Rummy Nose Tetras and 6 Blue Tetras. All but the last 2 were originally housed in my 55gal until the new 125 cycled. All water perameters are fine according to the API Freshwater test kit. Ive also tested for Phosphate...zero. Im pretty confident the lights are the ultimate culprit because before the new lights, everything was fine. Now let me go more into detail about the light fixture itself. The 72" fixture was sold (without the option of changing lamps to Freshwater Plants) setup as Reef. It came factory with the following 6 lamps on each side, 1-10,000k 1-460/620 purple, and 4-420/460 Actinic lamps. I was only able to afford to relamp one side due to the cost of removing brand new lamps to replace with brand new lamps