Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Total newbie here. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/total-newbie-here-125009/)

TheProcess 01-07-2013 09:48 PM

Total newbie here.

Okay, I am a complete newb when it comes to aquariums. I had one when I was a youngster, but that was 20 plus years ago.
I'm considering getting a 40 gallon tank, but I have no idea how to proceed after that haha
I would appreciate some tips on what brand of tank to purchase.
Plus, I would, ideally, like to have real plants instead of fake ones. Are real plants too much for a newb like me?
I don't know what type of fish I would like to have either other than that they be tropical. Any suggestions?
I suppose I'll leave it at that until I get some replies.
Thank you for reading and all the best!
TheProcess

Nilet699 01-07-2013 11:26 PM

Ok, so i just literally typed this out once 10 mins ago - so i copy/pasted for you :-)

Quote:

I'm fairly new to this myself and so i'll try and explain in the simple terms that i understand to help determine your fish.

What we really need to know in order to properly suggest the correct fish for your community is your water conditions. Fish can't really just go in any tap/well water etc and everybody s water is different. Levels of Kh, carbonate harness, and Gh, general hardness of your water, along with the ph, are very important in determining what fish you can have.

The best thing for determining this is to, if your haven't already, is to ring/google your local water supplier to find out or most display these levels on websites etc.
You could also buy the test kits to determine these yourself.