Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   New to forum. Need Help!!! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/new-forum-need-help-12461/)

kaz65 03-01-2008 04:52 PM

New to forum. Need Help!!!

Hi I was wondering if somebody can advise me on the best way to add more substrate to my 55gal tank, what is the max depth that the substrate should be. I am new to fish keeping and need all the help I can get. My tank has been up and running for 7 months now.
I would like to have more plants, but so far they just don't seem to be doing well at all....any ideas?
My tank just seems boring!!!!
So any ideas will be much appreciated. :D

crazy4fish 03-01-2008 05:55 PM

well first of all, welcome to the forum! :D i think you will find all the help you need here :wink:

now i have plastic plants in my tank (although i would love live ones) so i dont know everything about live plants, but i do know some of the basics. if your plants arent doing well it might be because of temp or the type of substrate you have. what kind of plants do you have in your tank? and what is the temp and substrate?

kaz65 03-01-2008 06:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by crazy4fish
well first of all, welcome to the forum! :D i think you will find all the help you need here :wink:

now i have plastic plants in my tank (although i would love live ones) so i dont know everything about live plants, but i do know some of the basics. if your plants arent doing well it might be because of temp or the type of substrate you have. what kind of plants do you have in your tank? and what is the temp and substrate?

Thanks for the welcome :wink:
I have some plastic plants in my tank too. The substrate is a med size gravel, and the temp runs between 78-80.