Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Yes another substrate question. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/yes-another-substrate-question-12435/)

GregV 02-29-2008 06:50 PM

Yes another substrate question.
 
I decided to start a discussion here just to get more input on the plant side of things.

Right now - i have the lighting - i have the C02 but im sure I made a boo boo on my substrate choice. I absolutly love khuli loaches, so i chose a silica sand to put in my tank - this was before i found out that silica sands <1mm suck for plants - and it shows in my tank.

my question is this say i mixed in about 60lbs (55 gal tank) of peasized gravel into the tank - and left a bit of sand for the khulis - do you think i would have a better experice with the planted side of thinigs this way?

thanks
Greg.

herefishy 03-01-2008 12:13 AM

Why not just use potted plants?

GregV 03-01-2008 10:42 AM

I would but I them to spred and propigate.

herefishy 03-01-2008 12:35 PM

I guess I'll lay the news on ya. I would change the substrate to Eco-Complete for Planted Tanks. Or to a fine gravel and mix either flourite or laterite. Depending upon the gravel you choose, you should be fine with those choices. They will be fine enough for your loaches and not cut them up.

My first choice would be the Eco-Complete. Loaches dig to hide. If you could provide some small hideouts the loaches would be none the wiser. They would aso be able to hide in your cover plants or the heavy leaved plants. Any choice that I have given would still keep your loaches happy. Just an added thought, if you could find a medium sized Anubius, the loaches could hide in the roots.

GregV 03-01-2008 05:44 PM

There was only one other thing I was considering. I was doing some reasearch and choosing plants that natually live in sand or finding plants that feed in the water column instead of the root system. This might solve my main problem of actually swtiching the substrate.

anyone have any idea what would work? the only thing thats doing sorta well right now is the val wich has already spread and made 2 new root systems.

GregV 03-01-2008 10:48 PM

its either that or swich substrates completly.

Pretty much what i would like is low maintance plants in a low maintance substrate as i dont have time or funds to keep tinkering with it.

I do have a good lighting system 110 watts compact flourecent, and c02 injection. I was hopeing my fish could do most of the fertilization.

Amphitrite 03-02-2008 04:11 AM

If you're looking to have low maintenance, I would suggest eco-complete. It's very simple to clean - there's no need to disturb it when doing water changes, just hover slightly above the surface with the gravel cleaner. I have to say - my kuhlies seem to love it.

I previously kept them in a sand substrate, and I didn't think I'd see them as much once I changed over - but they're out and about all the time. I think perhaps they feel more secure with the dark colour of the substrate.

One thing I'll say though - eco complete is not cheap. If your funds are limited it might not be an option at the moment but it's most definitely a worthwhile investment of you can afford to splash out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2