Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Newbie here (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/newbie-here-12292/)

Karmarules 02-26-2008 09:57 AM

Newbie here

Hey guys, my name is Jenn, and I just got a 2.5 gallon tank from a friend of mine. I have nothing for it other than the pump, and some filters. A friend of mine suggested I come to this site, for advice first, so I can learn as much as I can before I get my first fish.
With that said, here is what I've learn so far. I've learned that cycling the tank is good for the fish, but I am still unclear as to what it does exactly, or how it helps the fish. But that is what I am doing with my tank, right now.
My kids have hearts set on a Betta, I think I would like to have some real plants too. I do plan to upgrade to a bigger tank, but I don't want to spend the kind of money it takes to upgrade, before I know what I am doing.
So any suggestions on what I can get for my 2.5 gallon tank, as far as live plants, fishes, and also different kinds of test kids, and water softeners, ect. ect, and basically anything else I will need to make my tank a comfortable home for a fish.
Jenn

tran2255 02-26-2008 10:52 AM

congrats