Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cyprinids and Atherinids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cyprinids-atherinids/)
-   -   clown loach hiding (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cyprinids-atherinids/clown-loach-hiding-122268/)

skipperdee 12-09-2012 06:53 PM

clown loach hiding
 
i have two clown loach that are always hiding in a pretend log - i hardly ever see them now.
are they ok? will they be getting enough to eat?
can you help?:-?
thanks!

lakemalawifish 12-09-2012 08:05 PM

I tried stuffing filter foam into our decorations because of the loaches actually getting stuck in them and it just caused a terrible stink inside the decor. Once a clown loach actually made his way somehow into the decor anyway and got stuck. Luckily I was looking for him and picked up the decor and heard him knocking around and was able to get him out before he died in there. We switched to all ceramic fake logs that had easy places to get in and out of, yet providing them places to hide out.

Byron 12-09-2012 08:22 PM

Skipperdee, I moved your post and the response to begin a new thread of its own, since the issue is related but not directly with the other thread.

It did mention in the other thread about loaches needing places as a "home," so they can get off by themselves when they feel threatened, and at night. If you are never seeing your two clowns, this may be part of the problem--stress. Loach that are under stress will remain hidden.

And here we come to the issue of numbers. Loaches are highly social fish, that should be in a group of 4 at the very least, but five (or more) is better. They will form a very involved social structure within the group, and this is part of their natural behaviours and it affects their physiology. Read more in the profile, click the shaded name clown loach.

But before you rush out to get more, they need a large tank, 6 feet length. They will (or should if healthy) reach 8-12 inches, and may get to 16 inches. This needs space for a gorup of 5 or so. No mention was made of the tank size, so bear this in mind, as it is coming down the road.

Byron.

skipperdee 12-09-2012 08:29 PM

Thanks Byron,

i do have two other clown loach, slightly smaller (younger)
they seem fine - out in the open most of the time.

the tank they are in is: 3 ft by 2ft - as they are still little - i am not sure that this is the trouble, what do you think?
thanks :-)

Byron 12-09-2012 08:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by skipperdee (Post 1343448)
Thanks Byron,

i do have two other clown loach, slightly smaller (younger)
they seem fine - out in the open most of the time.

the tank they are in is: 3 ft by 2ft - as they are still little - i am not sure that this is the trouble, what do you think?
thanks :-)

So there are four, fine on that. Do they all have a "home" of their own? This may sound silly, but it is not. Loaches like to select their real estate, so there needs to be sufficient spots.

Beyond that, it is also possible something else could be wrong. How long have you had the four? What are the water parameters (GH, pH, temperature)? What are nitrates at?

Byron.

skipperdee 12-09-2012 08:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Byron (Post 1343465)
So there are four, fine on that. Do they all have a "home" of their own? This may sound silly, but it is not. Loaches like to select their real estate, so there needs to be sufficient spots.

Beyond that, it is also possible something else could be wrong. How long have you had the four? What are the water parameters (GH, pH, temperature)? What are nitrates at?

Byron.


Good point!! not really - i only have one long pretend log with various openings etc...
also i noticed in the info about them that they like fine gravel or sand substrate, i have small pebbles in my tank - should i add some finer/sand as well? how do you clean sand? sorry about all the questions!
i have had the loaches only since May.

i think i will add some more floating plants, as it might be to bright for them!

as i am not at home i can't test the parameters but i know the temp is set at approx. 80F

thanks

Byron 12-10-2012 11:16 AM

Quote:

Good point!! not really - i only have one long pretend log with various openings etc...
I like to use Malaysian Driftwood which you can get at many fish stores (Petsmart in Canada carries this, should in the US too) and online. It comes in various sized chunks and some of it is full of tunnels and crevices. My loaches love swimming through this, playing tag and "hide-n-seek" too.:lol:

Quote:

also i noticed in the info about them that they like fine gravel or sand substrate, i have small pebbles in my tank - should i add some finer/sand as well? how do you clean sand?
How large are the pebbles? Loaches like to dig, and some will almost bury themsevles. This is not easy to do in gravel that is too large. Fine gravel provided it is smooth or sand is better.

Don't mix sand with what you have, as the smaller sand will fall to the bottom and leave the pebbles on top. You can change the substrate completely if you want. I use Quikrete Play Sand from Home Depot or Lowe's; it is very inexpensive. You rinse it thoroughly in a pail. Once cleaned, it is an excellent substrate.

Quote:

i have had the loaches only since May.

i think i will add some more floating plants, as it might be to bright for them!

as i am not at home i can't test the parameters but i know the temp is set at approx. 80F
I asked about how long you've had them since I was thinking the two acting odd might have something, but never miond this now. It is more likely the brightness plus lack of shelter. Both really do impact fish a lot. Definitely get the floating plants.

Byron.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2