Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cichlids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/)
-   -   My new 35 gallons Cichlid Tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/my-new-35-gallons-cichlid-tank-122211/)

paulprivitera 12-09-2012 02:42 AM

My new 35 gallons Cichlid Tank

Hi,

I am new in this web site and also new in fish keeping hobbie. I used to have aquariums when I was young but it is quit a long time since then.

I decided to buy an aquarium for my son and ended up buying a 35 gallon tank which has been running for the past 6 months. After a long conversation with an aquarium fish shop owner who happens to be my friend, I decided to have a comunity of African Cichlids. Now I need to confirm some things, if anyone can help I would really apriciate.
Sorry if the names are not correct.

I have: 2 x OB Peachock
3 x Demasoni (Dwarf Mbuma)
1 x Striped Rafael Catfish which I see every 5 or 6 days :-)
2 x yellow Lab
& 2 x Cyphotilopia sp north (Burundi)

I know, some say it is already crowded but was thinking to add another 2 (don't know yet what) as even though the aquarium can seem small, all of the fish have there own hiding space and look relaxed. what do you think?

One of my problems is infect that the fish look relaxed swimming around peacfully with steddy fins and everything and when I ever watch Youtube clips, african cichlids look very exited.

Well I think I said enough.

Any feedback about my thinking? Thanks

I will try to post some pics when I figure out how to do it :-)

RedRaider15 12-09-2012 11:42 AM

This aquarium is kinda on the small side. I would recommend getting a 55 or larger as all of your fish will grow. As they become larger, there will not be enough space for each fish. This will cause territory issues and your fish would kill each other. I am getting a larger aquarium for my Cichlids soon. Hope this helps.