Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   New aquarium input (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/new-aquarium-input-122033/)

dakman 12-06-2012 08:37 PM

New aquarium input

hi i'm wondering if this set up for a 30 gallon tank would work and if not, the reason and an alternate recommendation. I'm a newbie so just learning. Thanks for all the help

2 blue rams

3 dwarf goromies

3 cory catfish

1 angelfish

6 neon tetras

8 platys

4 Guppies

2 swordtails

2 molies (optional)

Thoth 12-07-2012 06:39 AM

A few quick things that come to mind with your list of fish...

• The live bearing fish tend to like hard water and the Tetras and rams will want soft water. You should find out what your water sources hardness is and try to select fish that thrive in your tap water. Putting fish that like soft water in hard water will stress them and increase the chance of disease/death
  • The live bearers will crossbreed with funky offspring that may or maynot be viable(able to produce offspring). I am not a fan of crossbreeding but I will leave that up to you.
  • The Angel fish when bigger will eat any fry or fish that are the size of a male guppy or smaller.
  • I would suggest that you get a group of 5 to 6 Corys, smaller groups are timid and will hide.
  • I would not have more than 30 inches of fish in your tank. Use the full grown fish measurement for this calculation. More than this and you will have to do more frequent water changes while frequency of water changes is already the biggest cause of failure of an aquarium.