Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   Just ordered my jbj 28g CF-Quad! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/just-ordered-my-jbj-28g-cf-121670/)

Benm1020 12-03-2012 12:28 AM

Just ordered my jbj 28g CF-Quad!

Finally after having freshwater tanks for years, im trying reef so i just bought a jbj 28 , a hydor powerhead, heater, test kit and salt.
Now i need todecide on substrate and live or dry rock. So what would be better crushed coral or sand? And should i get Cured live rock or just get dry rock and cureit?
Thanks just starting out and will make this thread picture heavy [/code]

aussieJJDude 12-03-2012 02:23 AM

I would go for crushed coral with sand or just sand. I would go for the live rock!
I am not an expert on Salt water (i don't have one ATM) but many people go for these two choices.
Hope this helped (and i am correct!)

Reefing Madness 12-03-2012 09:24 AM

I'd go with Live Sand, Crushed Coral, which I currently have, tends to trap debre in it and start causing water issues. The choice of Cured Live Rock or just Live Rock is up to you, Using Cured Live Rock will allow you to have fish in around 3 days time.
Then there is Macro Rock:
MarcoRocks Aquarium Products

RSully 12-03-2012 01:02 PM

I went the live rock way.
Pro's- Your tank cycles very quickly. You can add CUC/Fish within a few days as RM said.
Cons- Your going to get hitch hikers. Good and possible bad. IN my DT, I got lucky. Britle worms, asterina star fish and a brittle starfish of some kind that we've only seen once. But in my QT I've got aptasia (not a good hitch hiker) SO you get what you get.

I've no regrets on going the cured LR route but I'm impatient and didn;t want to wait out the course of waiting for macro rock to cure.