Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Nano Reef (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/nano-reef/)
-   -   nano.... new to this.. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/nano-reef/nano-new-120895/)

bubbles1 11-25-2012 12:26 PM

nano.... new to this..

hello saltwater forum, ive never been to this side of TFK... hopefully now ill be here more often (fore shadowing ;-) ) okay so for christmas ive asked for a nano aquarium for my desk area max 10 gallons, origanallly i thought freshwater shrimp tank!! but then i was wondering perhaps saltwater? :shock: so yesterday i decided to dive in a few "begginers and for dummies books" to learn whats the differences and the new tech that ill be dealing with, i have a good idea now of basically everything! but go easy on the names of everything im still new to this.. i always wanted a saltwater aquarium when i was little but my parents brain washed me to think that if i so much touched the glass everything would die :-( but now that i realize its not that bad (still alot more challenging then freshwater) <----- from what ive read. id like to have a small nano reef or pico reef i think its called aswell. i would want to get something 5-10 gallons nothing huge. now i really wanna plan ahead so that this is a success! now first off id like to know what are good nano kits to purchase? that comes with proper lighting for easy corals, and good flow... i saw an aquarium called the IQ5, i like its shape and its 5 gallons. im really expierienced with freshwater aquariums, i have had all types with success and still have 3 right now running nicely so id just like to try something new.

now for this nano, assuming i get the IQ3, can anyone give me a list of equipment needed to have succes with this nano? also any advice and precautions regarding this tank is really appreciated.