Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   3 Tanks, similar tests, what levels are safe and how to fix asap? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/3-tanks-similar-tests-what-levels-119558/)

barbz88 11-12-2012 03:26 PM

3 Tanks, similar tests, what levels are safe and how to fix asap?

Hello, my name is Barb and I am new to this forum. I am also still quite new to the fish hobby.

I started my first tank, a 14 gallon, 17 months ago. It currently houses 4 silver dollars and a bristlenose pleco. I soon ended up with a 29 gallon that has 12 African cichlids in it, and I most recently, though it's been almost a year now, kept up with a 75 gallon tank with 3 kribs, 2 parrot cichlids, 1 jewel cichlid, 2 tiger barbs, 1 clown loach, and 1 fire eel in it.

The silver dollars are rather small, I feed them flakes. The 29 gal and 75 gal residents get a variety of foods, such as pellets, mysis shrimp, bloodworms, tubifex worms, and algae wafers. I feed everyone once a day, and I am pretty careful with what they eat and how much.

I used to clean and change water on all 3 tanks weekly, up until 3 or 4 months ago where I had little time and managed to maintain the tanks once every 3-4 weeks. I realize this isn't good, but everyone has survived. About a month ago, I put myself back into the game, maintaining all my tanks every weekend.

I am having 2 different struggles however...

First, I have had all the African cichlids for about a year now, and they really aren't much bigger than when I first bought them. I have had most of the fish in the 75 gal tank since it was ready after first putting it together and cycling it, and also don't seem to be growing. The silver dollars are new, so I can't say the same for them just yet.