Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Single 24" Bulb Ballast HELP please (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/single-24-bulb-ballast-help-please-118529/)

PdxMotoxer 11-01-2012 08:29 AM

Single 24" Bulb Ballast HELP please

First i'm a newbie so hello everyone!!
(far from "new" to freshwater fish.. lol) :-)

Also if this post is in the wrong place/section sorry.

I recently dusted off my 29g tank that had been sitting in my garage covered for 8 years.
got everything up and running, replaced a lot of stuff with new and improved and
being a "smaller tank" i only have a couple Green Terror's and Blue Acara's.

I ordered a newer T8 50/50 bulb and tried to get it going in my Stock All-Glass
Oak Light Fixture that fits it's matching lid and matching stand.

It had a T12 (no clue color/watt/anything other than size) working fine but OLD (9-10years?)
I was told and read the newer T8 "should" work but all it does is TRY to start and blink but won't
stay on. (i tried new FS2 starter with it only full bulb blinking and not staying on)

I've done TONS of reading and read here and all over.
I'd like to keep using this fixture and no issue changing the ballast....
BUT

I'm having trouble finding what ballast i should use for a SINGLE 24" 17watt T8 Bulb.

It's tough to find a T12 50/50 or brighter.
I'm FAR from an expert on lighting or a/c wattage, voltage
so i keep finding Single bulb T8 ballasts but so many i have ZERO clue which one to buy.

Thanks for reading and ANY help.

Quantum 11-01-2012 07:36 PM

my experience is that T8s don't do well in fixtures with ballasts designed for T12s, the wattage is wrong as well as other aspects like operating frequency, apparently some work, but the ones I've tried just flickered dimly