Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Hi there (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/hi-there-11850/)

fishnoobie 02-14-2008 01:39 PM

Hi there

I'm Christa and I'm brand new to the world of fish keeping. Ive had bettas in the past but still have a lot to learn, especially since I recently started a job at a pet store. I'm not sure where else I should be posting this but I have a bit of a puzzle I need help with. If anyone who really knows fish products could offer up some advice that would be great. (This is for my training at work)

Match the problem (letter) with the solution (number)
a) fish got bitten by another fish
b) my child fed the fish tank the entire can of food
c) adding some new fishies to my tank
d) dechlorinating a new aquarium
e) cloudy but healthy tank

1) StressZyme
2) Water Conditioner
3) Water Clarifier
4) Waste Control
5) Nov-Aqua

herefishy 02-15-2008 01:37 AM

Hello, Christa, welcome to the forum. You really know how to put the pressure on a group when you plan to use us as your trainer group. But, I think you made a good choice.

Let me answer your questions and give you the products that I use and maybe the reason I use them.

A.) "fish got bitten by another fish" -- This scenario doesn't happen often. Most fish do have dental work and many have their teeth in places other than their mouths. Teeth are sometimes located in or near the throat. These are called "pharyngeal teeth". Some fish have teeth that are for rasping algae from rocks. Many African cichlids, mbuna, are so dentured. When a fish becomes injured with what looks like a bite mark or has scales remove, I use products like PimaFix, MelaFix, or StressCoat.