Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Question about powerheads (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/question-about-powerheads-118429/)

Canadian Fish 10-30-2012 09:37 PM

Question about powerheads

Since I started using a python for water changes instead of buckets, I notice my rainbowfish seem to enjoy swimming against the current, so I am considering putting in a powerhead. I have never used one before. They're in a 4ft 55 gallon tank.

I think it would be good to have one in my Silver Dollar tank as well, because there's a Hillstream Loach in there, and I know he would enjoy it. This is also a 4 ft 55 gallon tank.

Finally, I plan on putting clown loaches in my 220, and I hear they also like a current, so I want one for that tank as well.

My question is, what size do I need? I don't know anything about powerheads.

This is the brand I would like to go with, as they are affordable:

Maxi-Jet Pro 1200 Powerhead // Aquarium Supplies Canada - Pond Supplies Canada - Reptile Supplies Canada // Pets & Ponds

Here are the specs for the various sizes:

Model 1200: 295 gph in power head mode. 1300 gph in circulation mode
Model 900: 230 gph in power head mode. 1000 gph in circulation mode
Model 600: 160 gph in power head mode. 750 gph in circulation mode
Model 400: 110 gph in power head mode. 500 gph in circulation mode

Am I correct that for my purposes I will be using circulation mode?
I assume I'll need the 1200 for the 220, but I am wondering which one would be best for the 55s.

Thanks!

Tazman 10-30-2012 10:23 PM

2 x 750gph is what I have in my 55g saltwater tank but that might be too much for freshwater fish. Perhaps only 1.