Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Prime vs. Safe? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/prime-vs-safe-116863/)

pittipuppylove 10-12-2012 02:30 PM

Prime vs. Safe?

Hey guys,

I'm picking up some new conditioner and planned on getting Seachem Prime since my tap water contains a fair amount of nitrate. I was checking it out online and found out that Seachem creates a product called "Safe" that is supposedly the powdered version of Prime and more concentrated. Anyone have experience with this product and it's use as opposed to Prime?

Thanks for any help!
Leah

AK Fresh Water 10-12-2012 04:17 PM

I have no experience with either product.
However, I have a preference for liquid products. In the past, I feel that powders take longer to dissolve and work properly. This may be speculation, but it has led me to purchase liquid options whenever possible.

AbbeysDad 10-12-2012 04:58 PM

Prime will not help your problem with source water nitrates. Although Prime will detoxify ammonia, nitrites and nitrates, it only does so for 24-48 hours.
You'll need to find another source of water for your water changes.
You might consider adding lots of plants, even floating to help bring nitrates down.

For lower nitrates for water changes...
You might consider an RO, DI or RO/DI system to filter nitrates from your water.
You might use an API Tap Water Filter to produce deionized (DI) water.
You might use Fluval Lab Series Nitrate Remover or API Nitra-Zorb. Both are synthetic resins that adsorb nitrates and can be regenerated in salt water.
You might invest in a denitrate filter (such as Aquaripure) but they can be a little expensive.

In any case, There is no chemical solution to high nitrates in source or tank water.