Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Plants for a newbie tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/plants-newbie-tank-116706/)

Star7781 10-10-2012 04:33 PM

Plants for a newbie tank

I was wondering if anyone could recommend some plants for my tank. I'm totally new to fishkeeping and have been reading a lot before making decisions, but there is sooo much information, it seems to be getting muddled.

I have a 29 gal. tank that has been running for 2 months now. I have 4 guppies, a peppered cory and an albino pleco. I also got a shipload of bladder snails on some of the plants... nice but am concerned that the tank might become overrun. I started with some wisteria and an Amazon Sword and I added a nice piece of Java moss (my favorite in the tank). I'm using a gravel substrate but am thinking that I should have chosen some type of sand for the cory)

I would like to add more plants, but I'm not sure what I should get. Have thought about some floating plants, but I don't want something that will make it difficult to work from the top of the tank. (I get the impression many floating plants will take over). My wisteria is getting taller and looks like I should be trimming it or something (the top looks new and fresh and the lower sections are looking older although not dying by any means). My Amazon Sword looks like it might be decaying at the base but the leaves look green and healthy.

Does anyone have any suggestions about how I can improve the plants by working with what I have or adding new kinds of plants? Suggestions on low maintenance plants would be great. Thanks :-)

My main tank:
Star's Main Tank - 29 gallon Freshwater fish tank

fish monger 10-10-2012 06:52 PM