Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Stocking ? for 20g (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/stocking-20g-115435/)

TinaM 09-25-2012 07:48 PM

Stocking ? for 20g

Hi Everyone! Newbie here. I have had a 20 gallon tropical freshwater tank for about 6 weeks. It is fully cycled and have the following:

3 Pearl Danios
1 Glo-Danio
1 long finned Zebra Danio
1 male MM Platy
1 male Black Molly
1 female Dalmation Molly
3 Julii cats

Three questions...
1) :cry: I feel kinda sorry for my lone Platy. Should I get him a platy buddy?
2) Should I get another female molly? My black molly seems to be nice to her and is not harrassing her yet. Always have read the 1 to 2or3 ratio.
3) Do I have room for some type of sucker catfish/ algae eater. No algae yet, but want to be proactive. I currently use Omega One Veggie Rounds and the whole tank loves them! So I know I will have to provide some substance for the algae eater in the meantime. I was thinking of a snail, oto or small species of pleco.

Any suggestions would be welcome! Thanks!!

squishylittlefishies 09-27-2012 06:20 PM

yes, you might want to get another girl molly just to be safe. also, mollies like brackish water better, but can live in fw. for a bottom feeder you should get some otos or amano shrimps. both are adorable, and great algae eaters/cleanup. They both stay small and produce very little waste. plecos get HUGE and produce a lot ofwaste. snails are also huge waste producers, so keep that in mind. hope that helped;-)

DragonFyre14 09-27-2012 07:53 PM