Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Brand new 60 gallon need help stocking (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/brand-new-60-gallon-need-help-114550/)

xmartinnitramx 09-17-2012 04:07 AM

Brand new 60 gallon need help stocking

I'm very new to aquariums and newer to his site so please bare with me as I struggle.

I'm trying to decide between a 90 and 60 gallon tank and am leaning towards the 60 gallon. My only worry is that I'll over stock it with the fish I'm hoping to buy.

The fish I plan on buying are a rope fish, black ghost knife, a clown or dojo loach, a pleco (hopefully a zebra).
I arranged them in order from those I'd most like to have to those I'm more flexible with not acquiring.

I'm worried that when these fish are fully grown that the 60 gal tank will be over stocked. I'd gladly buy the 90 gal but it sounds harder to maintain. (these are the two sized tanks i found at a considerable price)

Lastly, I the 60 gal tank is sufficient, would there be room for more fish?

Thank you in advance, I apologize for being a very paranoid and worried future fish owner.

Byron 09-17-2012 08:09 PM

First off, welcome to Tropical Fish Keeping forum.:cheers: