Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Issues with ich please help!!!!! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/issues-ich-please-help-114270/)

Billiedt 09-14-2012 12:04 PM

Issues with ich please help!!!!!

I have a 45gal tank and I have read a lot of different things on the issues and have tried just about everything i don't know what else to do... I am brand new to owning a tank and I guess I have the worst luck. I bought goldfish that brought ich into my tank I have been fighting it for a month and a half now. First time I noticed it I used quick cure till I thought it was was gone. Lo and behold it wasn't!!!! It killed two of my fish! After that I added salt and tried using ich guard instead. And it seemed to help a little but not much. Currently I am still using the salt, quick cure and daily 25%-%50 water changes. To me it seems like all it's doing is keeping them alive... What am I doing wrong!!!!???

fishysrfun 09-14-2012 07:06 PM

Im no expert but try turning up the heat above 82 for a week but do it slowly so you don't shock the fish.
Good Luck

Freshcatch 09-14-2012 08:14 PM

Welcome to the forum.