Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   Is my fishtank okay? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/my-fishtank-okay-113677/)

Jrpetkeeper 09-08-2012 04:24 PM

Is my fishtank okay?

I'm a newbie with whats right or wrong for a fish tank, well I've had my tank up and running for over 5 or 6 months now.
It is a 140 Liter tank with:
  • A Chinese algae eater (he was the first one so all the fish had to get only with him)
  • 2 Dwarf honey gourami
  • 12 Glass Catfish
  • 10 Glass Bloodfin Tetras
  • 5 Kuhli Banded loaches
  • 6 Male rainbow threadfins.

DragonFyre14 09-08-2012 06:34 PM

Well... i would say your tank is overstocked. especially since your Chinese Algae eater can get up to 11 inches, Also as they get older they often get very territorial and aggressive. Their name is misleading because they aren't very good algae eaters. so if you are keeping him on the sole purpose of eating algae I would recommend trading him in for 1 or 2 Bristnose Plecos (or rubernose plecos whichever are easier to get your hands on) as they are very good at keeping a tank clean. Other than that your tank is pretty overstocked. Although if the fish have plenty of room to swim around in and don't seem to be fighting this can be fine. just make sure to be doing water changes weekly of at least 50% to combat ammonia build up and other things created by too many fish.

Jrpetkeeper 09-08-2012 06:44 PM

I've had Piper (the Chinese algae eater) for over four years and a half years.
I had a 20 Litter tank with a couple of sword tails but while i was away the person manged to kill all of my fish apart from Piper so I'm not giving him away as I owe him, the tank was horrible when I got it back.