Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   complete noob with 10gal (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/complete-noob-10gal-11286/)

sakemomo 01-27-2008 10:48 PM

complete noob with 10gal

first i would like to say that, i'm a complete noob. i've watched my mom feed her goldfish, fed them myself a few times and have had a male betta in a 1 litre betta bowl. i recently found out that they need more room so i picked up a used 10gal that came with 3 goldfish (going to my mom's next weekend) an aquaclear power filter, a home-made net cover thing to keep the fish from jumping out, a net for catching the fish, a bucket for cleaning, some food and cleaning detergent things and what i think is called an air-rator (there's a motor with a tube attached that has a thing that looks like a rock at the end and it blows bubbles in the water).

after i give mom the goldfish (they seem far too large for this tank and i'm concerned that their mouths are big enough to fit my betta) i plan on housing squee IV in there and would like to get a small community going as well. i heard that male bettas will attack other long-fined fish like mollies (though i think they are beautiful) but other then that i don't know what would work well for a small 10gal and a betta. i was thinking neons because they're small but again i don't know if they work well with bettas. and i love catfish but there's so many types that i don't know which one i should get.