Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   do i need to shake nitrate bottle number 2 every time i test? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/do-i-need-shake-nitrate-bottle-111505/)

allaboutfish 08-21-2012 10:11 PM

do i need to shake nitrate bottle number 2 every time i test?
 
do i need to shake it if i do say 9 tests in an hour? i know id need to shake the test tube.

Chesh 08-21-2012 10:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by allaboutfish (Post 1208802)
do i need to shake it if i do say 9 tests in an hour? i know id need to shake the test tube.

LOL! 9 tests in an HOUR? You're worse than I am! ;-)

Honestly, I would. The chemicals in that particular reagent have a hard time staying in solution, from what API told me when I contacted them about it. It is actually recommended that you give it a good TWO-minute shake down, along with a bang on the counter-top or two if you haven't used it for a week or so, if you really ARE testing 9x in an hour then the 30 seconds is probably okay ;)

Consider this. . . not only are the results for that particular test incorrect if the chemicals are not properly mixed before adding to the water, but you're actually running the risk of ruining the entire bottle if you use it without the chemicals suitably mixed. . . it sucks, I know, but I'd go ahead and err on the side of caution (and a sore arm) on this one.

And for goodness sakes! There is NO reason that you should need to test 9 times in an hour!!! You'll get tennis elbow, give it a bit of a rest ;-)

allaboutfish 08-21-2012 10:50 PM

ha i was going to test all of my tanks tomorrow before the water changes (i dont usually). so if ive only been shaking it for a minute i need to buy a new one?

Chesh 08-21-2012 10:53 PM

Nah, I wouldn't bother - you're probably fine! Just something to think about. . . :) With 9 tanks, you'll need a new bottle soon enough anyway, I'm guessing!

I test all of my tanks together. . . all SIX of them, not nine. I put a line of permanent marker on the tubes, so I can keep them separate by tank, and yes, I did have to buy a replacement pack of tubes at one point, but it's SO much easier to just line 'em up and do them all at once - for me, anyway!

Happy testing - may your results be full of zeros and yellowish orange nitrates!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2